Luvi Silverberg
November 14, 2022

How to Get a Handicap Placard in NH

Introduction

When it comes to getting a handicap placard or license plate, the state of New Hampshire has a few rules and regulations that you need to follow. Here's what you need to know:

You need your doctor to fill out the Application for Disability Placard/License Plates.

To get a handicap placard in New Hampshire, you need to have a doctor's note. The doctor must fill out the Application for Disability Placard/License Plates, which is available at any DMV office and on their website. The form must be signed by your doctor and show that he or she has examined you within 12 months of submitting it to the NH DMV.

It costs $5 to get a placard.

You'll need to pay a $5 fee for each placard you request. This is non-refundable and payable by cash or check at the Department of Safety's office. While this may seem like a small price to pay for the convenience of parking close to your destination, it's important to keep in mind that this fee is paid per placard, not per year; if you're applying for more than one handicap placard, be prepared to pay an extra $10 ($5 per additional placard).

When you have a valid handicap placard or license plate, you'll know it because it will have an expiration date printed on it.

When you have a valid handicap placard or license plate, you'll know it because it will have an expiration date printed on it. The expiration date for these disability permits is six months from the month of issuance. For example, if you received your disability placard in January 2019 and your permit expires in July 2019—you can use that placard until then.

If you no longer qualify for a handicap placard at any time during this period (for example, when you are no longer disabled), be sure to return it to the DMV within 30 days of the expiration date stamped on the card itself or face penalties including fines up to $1,000 per violation and possible jail time.

Check with your local DMV office to see if it has special needs parking available.

  • Check with your local DMV office to see if it has special needs parking available.

  • If your DMV office doesn't offer special needs parking, you'll need to check with nearby businesses to see if they do. Some businesses may charge, some may not allow vehicles with handicap placards and some may be free. To find out, call ahead of time or make an appointment so that the business can accommodate your needs when you arrive.

  • If there aren't any businesses in the area that offer this service, ask a family member or friend who lives in another city or town if they would be willing to drive you around until one opens up near where you live.

You can call your DMV office to find out if it is open during the hours you expect to visit, so you can plan accordingly.

If you're planning to visit your local DMV office, it is important to know that some offices are only open during certain hours. To find out what those hours are, visit the NH DMV website [https://www.nh.gov/dmv/] and look under "Contact Us." There, you can see all of their locations and contact information, including phone numbers. You should also call ahead before visiting so that you don't waste time waiting around for an employee who isn't there!

If an office is closed because it's a holiday or otherwise off-hours, then simply call ahead of time and ask if there will be anyone available when you plan on visiting (or even try checking online).

The DMV doesn't require that you be able to walk in order to get a disabled placard or license plate.

You don't need to be able to walk in order to get a disabled placard or license plate. The DMV will issue one if you're in a wheelchair, and it'll give you an additional placard if you have difficulty walking as well.

If you want both, then that's fine too! Just make sure that your driver's license will not expire within the next two years (or 6 months for non-NH residents) before applying for either type of permit.

If you are temporarily disabled, the DMV can issue you a temporary disabled placard or license plate.

If you are temporarily disabled and need to use handicapped parking spaces, the DMV can issue you a temporary disabled placard or license plate.

Temporary placards and license plates are valid for up to six months. If you have a temporary disability that will last longer than six months, you can apply for an extension of your temporary handicap permit.

You can get a temporary placard or license plate if:

  • You are confined to a wheelchair or stretcher.

  • You use crutches or braces on both legs due to injury or illness (Your physician must certify that this is necessary).

Know these things before going to your state department of motor vehicles

Before heading to the state DMV, it's important to know the requirements for a handicap placard. You should also be prepared with documentation and a doctor's note.

In addition to knowing the requirements for a handicap placard, you'll also want to know how to get one from your state department of motor vehicles (DMV). You'll need to bring certain documents and fill out forms at this time. It's best if you can do this early in advance so that there isn't much of a wait for your card when it comes time for renewal.

Conclusion

I hope this article has helped you understand how to get a handicap placard in NH. I know that it can be confusing at times, as there are a lot of different rules and regulations to take into account when applying for one of these cards. Follow the steps above and you'll be on your way to being able to park in any disabled spot around town!